h1

the january bug

January 15, 2010

It’s that time again…time for me to get sick for months on end.  When I was a kid, I would hit my nastiest illness of the year every spring, but now it seems that I hit it in January and then just build towards the illness climax later in the spring.  Oh boy!

The frustrating thing is that increased awareness and prevention efforts on my part don’t seem to be doing much.  Last year this time, I sucked it up and plowed through whatever infections were plaguing my upper respiratory tract, until after four rounds of antibiotics, I finally ended up having to find an immunologist out here in Colorado and spend some time on the big gun antibiotics, along with my annual corticosteroid happy fun time.  This year, I’m trying to take it slow, and have stayed home from work a bunch to sleep, eat citrus, and drink tea in my humidified and space-heated bedroom, but I’m still getting worse.  The gods of illness are not friendly to me.  It’s enough to make me want to say the hell with it and go back to work, as well as sticking with my skiing and party plans for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

