h1

hey, an explanation i like

February 18, 2010

Turns out there’s nothing majorly wrong with me, they think.  Huzzah!  Apparently you can start having “benign positional vertigo” (my diagnosis) after a random illness that knocks your inner ear out of whack, and it just takes time to fix itself, and I can do some weird head positioning things to help it hurry up.  It can just be really scary in the meantime, especially if you are never prone to nausea and haven’t ever felt very close to fainting before, like me.

The cool thing is that the doctor I saw this afternoon thinks it could explain the resurgence in and increase in severity of my migraines as well (which is good, because I hadn’t been able to come up with a very satisfying trigger for the change).  And, of course, the new symptom of nausea.  Yay!  I was starting to worry that there could be something really wrong with me, and my landlord had put forward the alarming theory that I was pregnant.

I would do the “not gonna die, not gonna die!” dance, except it would probably make me feel like I was going to vomit and fall over.

One comment

  1. I’m glad the explanation isn’t something terrifying, but I hope you feel better soon. Nausea & dizziness are frustrating symptoms – if you’re still enough you might start to feel better, then you get bored, then you move & want to die. At least that’s been my experience…



Leave a Reply

