h1

this stinks

June 19, 2010

I saw my first ever real-life “in the wild” skunk tonight.  It was stinky, but luckily I am not (and neither is the dog).  It looked a lot like this.

Except it had its tail up, and its stink cannons aimed directly at me, and it was hanging out in the middle of the sidewalk.

Considering that a) it was 1am, and I am tired and have been up since six; b) I was walking home with a very excitable dog, who thinks small smelly creatures are cooler than just about anything else on this earth other than velveeta and shreddable squeaky toys; c) three of us finished two bottles of red wine this evening before I began my 15-minute journey home; and d) I didn’t find it until I almost tripped over it on the sidewalk, I consider myself lucky to be just normally smelly, and not skunk smelly.  The universe looks kindly upon me tonight.

I am also leaving for a backpacking trip in the Never Summers in five hours.  I have to go to the grocery store before then.  I am a dumbass, yes.

Leave a Reply

