h1

monday meteorological mayhem

October 25, 2010

This morning it was cool and rainy, and the sun was out. It was also windy enough to plaster soggy leaves all over everything (faces included). There was, however, an excellent rainbow in front of the flatirons when I was out walking the mutt, and it almost made up for the grossness.  Almost.

 

These are the flatirons. They are flatter than they look from here.

By lunchtime, it was clear and sunny and respectably warm, with a light breeze.  Basically, gorgeous fall weather.  Of course, this was the part of the day I didn’t get to go outside for.

This afternoon, it rained toilet water inside my lab.  Oddly enough, this was the best possible water-falling-from-ceiling-situation we could have had happen.  No damage, except to my afternoon productivity.

When I left the lab, it had cooled off significantly and was windy like whoa, but still clear.  It was the first time so far this season I’ve been cold while walking to the bus.  Time to break out the hat and gloves, I suppose.

It snowed briefly while I was on the bus.  Oh, and the bus had no heat.

By the time I got home, it was downright cold, and still windy like whoa.  Walking the mutt, it was intermittently spitting snow on me.  We’re expecting our first hard freeze of the year, and we’ll see what kind of tough stuff my collards are made of.  I refuse to coddle them, like the guy down the street is doing to his bok choi.  Worst case scenario, I eat a lot of collards tomorrow.  I fail to see the downside in this.

Leave a Reply

