h1

wtf minesweeper, wtf

December 15, 2010

I spend a decent bit of my time playing minesweeper. This might surprise you, especially those of you who I often dismiss with claims that I’m busy and don’t have time to talk/hang out/get beer/sleep/eat/whatever. But, I swear there’s a legit explanation here. Minesweeper can be played in 90-second increments while a photoluminescence scan runs, or while the system equilibrates between scans, whereas fun or useful times can rarely be had within those same time parameters.  Also, my data collection computer doesn’t have an internet connection.

So, minesweeper. At this point (months and months into a short-scan-heavy project), I’m pretty damn good at it. My original goal was to set all the records on each of the computers in the lab I use; I did that a few months ago (not hard, really, since nobody else seems to play it on those computers).  Now I’m simply trying to beat my own records.  It’s a considerably harder goal, and I still only actually beat the expert setting about 1/8 of the time.  The other day, I was absolutely destroying a board, when disaster struck: minesweeper cheated me.

Click on the image to see the brutal unfairness of it all, and to admire my shockingly good time. Also, this data is unpublished, so don't steal it. It's also unlabeled and unanalyzed, so good luck if you try to.

My best time by far, only two mines left, and no possible way to tell where they are.  And of course, I guess wrong.  BASTARD WINDOWS PROGRAM.  It wants me to fail.

One comment

  1. I HATE when that happens! That is my least favorite thing ever. Well, top 10.



Leave a Reply

