h1

my research is easier than your bureaucracy

February 2, 2011

Dear physics department,

You offer thesis-track master’s degrees.  I know this because there’s a detailed page about it on your website.    Why don’t you know it?

Please know this in the future.  It would make my life a lot less difficult.  You have no idea, department, how hard it is to get you to sign forms and approve processes that you’re not aware exist.  They do exist!  I know they exist, the graduate school knows they exist, your goddamn website knows they exist!  Please, please, please learn that they exist so that I don’t get strangled by (apparently invisible) red tape.

Also, if one more professor looks at me in shock and says, “Why don’t you just do Comps II?  I’ve never heard of anyone writing a thesis before,” that professor is likely to meet an untimely death by paper cut.  Yes, department, I am threatening to paper cut someone to death with the form I’m trying to get them to sign, and don’t you dare think I’m bluffing.  It will take a long time, but my rage is fierce and I am dedicated.  I am not doing Comps II because I would rather write a thesis, and my (non-departmental) advisor thinks it’s a good idea too.  It is that simple, and it is not any of your concern, because you offer a goddamn thesis-track master’s degree.

Please die.

Love, Lady Quantum

One comment

  1. Wow. The competence that I observed as a student in that department has clearly gone the way of the dinosaurs.

    Sorry to hear it.



Leave a Reply

