h1

starting my day with a false alarm, literally

March 2, 2011

I have some weird habits surrounding my alarm clock.  Okay, so maybe they’re not all that weird, but you should know that I never get up the first time it goes off.  Ever.  Sometimes I hit snooze once, twice, or continuously for an hour (heh), but sometimes I decide to just skip the repeated getting out of bed (of course my alarm is across the room, so don’t you dare tell me to put it there…it doesn’t help) and reset the whole thing for an hour later.  I’ve gotten pretty good at the zombie alarm-reset.

Rephrase: I’m usually pretty good at the zombie alarm-reset.   Once every 3 months or so, I do what I did this morning: I accidentally reset the clock instead of the alarm.  So this morning when I changed my alarm from DEARGODTOOEARLY (hey, I’m optimistic about getting up early to work on this thesis crap) to kind-of-early-but-the-sun-will-actually-be-up-or-at-least-rising, I set the time ahead about an hour and a half.

I woke up when the sun hit my face (7:40am), and the alarm clock blinked dolefully at me, 8:59am.  I have a class that starts at 9am, and we have a guest speaker today.

CUE PANIC.  I was already almost out the door with a tangerine for later (alas, that would have been breakfast and lunch, given how busy my day is today) when I caught sight of my watch.  I didn’t believe it until I checked the clocks in the kitchen, but turns out it’s true.  I only overslept 40 minutes, and, thank goodness, not several hours.  I’m steadfastly ignoring my original intended wake-up time, because as much as I might dream, it really just never happens.

Now I feel like I have all the time in the world to get ready… remarkable, given that I did still oversleep by quite a bit.  I blame migraine medicine.

Leave a Reply

