h1

as good as it gets

April 11, 2011

I just got a phone call.  It was from the AAAS.  Apparently, someone wants me to be a science writer for them this summer, as part of the AAAS’s Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellows program.

This someone is my hometown newspaper.  The real one, not the cute quaint one.  This someone is also located 45 minutes from my parents, only 6 hours from where my partner will be living this summer, and 3 hours from my brother’s permanent duty station.  It puts me as close to all of these things as I could possibly hope to be out of all their fellowship assignments.  I also have a ton of folks I adore who are still in the area.

The only sad part is that it means I’ll be leaving Colorado for good this May (don’t worry, I’ll be back to visit … just not on a long-term basis).  That will be a very sad part indeed.  But, I would have been leaving eventually anyway, even had I gotten the Colorado fellowship assignment.  This just moves up that permanent departure date by a few months.

I’m pretty friggin’ happy right now.  A few days ago I got a master’s degree, and now I get to use it doing something I think I’ll love for the summer, while getting a chance to spend time with some of the people I love, too.

Happy April!  Hope yours rocks as much as mine does right now.

3 comments

  1. I almost feel like I should adopt an alias to post here.

    Congratulations! This is such great news!

    So when do you move out to your hometown? If it is before/during May 17-19, would you like to hang out with me and my girlfriend, which might include visiting Fullsteam Brewery or possibly Durham Bulls? Since we will be in the Bull City, we could also potentially visit the *good* Cosmic. Keep in touch!


  2. Ooh, I will have to keep that in mind. I don’t have set plans yet for moving, though, just that I’ll be coming east by way of north Georgia and be in DC for orientation June 6-something.


  3. Yay! The east coast takes you back with open arms! Sounds like a great summer gig 🙂



Leave a Reply

